How to Become a Licensed Plumber in Louisiana: License Requirement and Guide

In order to become a licensed plumber in Louisiana, you need to follow the contracting law’s place by the State Plumbing Board of Louisiana (SPBL). Like electric contractors License, to become a licensed plumber in Louisiana, you must start from the apprenticeship. Then after fulfilling the apprentice requirements, you can upgrade to a journeyman then to a master plumbing license level. However, if you do not wish to become a journeyman or master plumber, there is another license that you can choose. It is a plumbing tradesman and you can perform maintenance on existing plumbing at this level of license.

Basic Knowledge

In Louisiana, you can become an apprentice plumber at the age of 16 if you are physically capable of doing the required work. Not having a high school diploma or GED isn’t a problem for entering an apprentice program. You have to demonstrate to them that you can read instructions and do math associated with the work.

You do not need a Louisiana plumbers license if the repair work does not exceed $10,000. The road to getting your plumber’s license starts as an apprentice.

How to Get a Plumbing License Louisiana?

Apprentice Plumber

You must pass an entrance exam for the program. Once you passed the aptitude exam, you will need to be acceptance by a local union or a licensed plumber in the area. This requirement will provide you with the task of work to learn the trade. You can learn the basics of pipe fitting, cutting and repair. In addition, as an apprenticeship, you can also become familiar with the types of water systems from private well to municipal lines as well as how to install water heaters, toilets, sinks, faucets, showers, and furnaces. Last but not least, you will learn basic carpentry skills during the apprenticeship period.

The field experience as an apprentice is almost from 3 to 4 years in which you learn different ways to perform tasks and new technical ways in which you can manage your work. During this time, you must complete technical courses of up to 144 hours of classroom training. This class is mandatory for every essential apprentice plumber to further go for a plumbing license.

Related:  How To Become A Licensed Plumber In Pennsylvania?

The apprenticeship program is provided by the Plumbing, Heating, Cooling Contractors of Louisiana (PHCCL) and this is approved by the Bureau of Apprenticeship and Training. Below are the key requirements and qualificaitons for these programs:

  • Must be 16 years old or above
  • Must have a high school diploma or general education development (GED)
  • Must be physically capable of performing essential functions
  • The apprenticeship must be employeed by any approved plumbing contracting companies

Journeyman Plumber

After you are completed with the apprentice program, you can now apply for the Journeyman Plumber’s exam. By now, you will be a skilled plumber and must be able to manage difficulties related to your field. You must prove that you are logged up to 8,000 hours working under a licensed plumber. You will receive a temporary task permit to allow you to work as a Journeyman Plumber while waiting to take the exam as this is not mandatory requirement. A Journeyman Plumber only has a permit to do repair work with their Louisiana plumbing license.

Below is the key summary of requirements that you need to qualify for examination to become a journeyman plumber in Louisiana:

  • Have completed the apprenticeship program or be in the last year of the program though the state plumbing board; Or
  • Must have 8,000 hours or 5 years under the direct supervision of on-the-job training from journeyman or master plumber. In this case, you should be able to show proof either 5 years with W-2’s or 8,000 hours with official payroll documentations. In addition, any applicants who apply for the waiver process is required to complete voucher in order to verify the W-2’s or payroll documentation; Or
  • Have a valid plumbing licese from another state. SPBL does not reciprocate licnese but you can use the valid license from another state to qualify to take the journeyman exam
Related:  How To Become A Licensed Plumber In South Dakota?

This is a state-level license in which you can perform work only in the state area carrying your license.

Master Plumber

To become a Master Plumber, you need at least five years’ experience work as a licensed Journeyman Plumber. The state requires another exam to become a Master Plumber. A Master Plumber can do all type of plumbing work except for Medical Gas and Water Supply Protection. The work requires special licensing and certification. He is specialized in his field and can put his hands in all kinds of works related to the plumber’s field.

In Louisiana, A plumber is paid $22 per hour. However, that can increase up to $30 an hour if the plumber has a good experience. Plumbers have high demand across the state. You can excel in this carrier for more than 15 years. And this is a perfect field if you want to earn money based on your experience and hard work.

Plumbing Tradesman

As a licensed tradesman plumber, you are allowed to repair any existing plumbing systems. The license of plumbing tradesman is obtained from the board and they can perform any repair existing plumbing systems in one– and two-family dwellings. These works are done at the direction of a master plumber and without any supervision from a journeyman plumber.

Requirements for a License in Louisiana

You must hold a driver’s license to obtain a Louisiana plumbing license. You must have a clean criminal record. There are many technical and community colleges that are offering plumbing programs in the state. They are taught the basic of plumbing repairs and installation. You can also learn about the various building codes and regulations required by the state. You will be learning the proper use of plumbing tools.

Each technical schools and community colleges are offering financial aid to qualifying students. Some of the course work may be completed through an online education program. However, you can complete physical work in a classroom to graduate. Depends on the school, it will cost up to $3,000 to complete the program.

The school will teach students and arrange practicals to give them a live demonstration of how to person various complex tasks. They teach different alternative plans for one problem.

Related:  How to Become a Licensed Plumber in Connecticut: License Requirements and Guide

Insurance for Plumbers in Louisiana

The plumbers are given basic aid from schools, but after becoming Master plumbers in Louisiana must have general liability insurance and vehicle liability insurance for any service trucks. If you are hiring workers, then you must compensate your worker’s insurance. You will not be able to claim your license until you provide proof of the insurance.

Examination Fee and Related Information

The exam and licneses are governed by the State Plumbing Board. Below are the associated exam and license fees:

  • Journeyman exam fee: $125
  • Master plumber exam fee: $100

The Journeyman exam usually takes up to 2.5 hours to complete and carries 80 multiple-choice questions. This exam covers all the general plumbing knowledge, permits, and regulations.

Whereas, the Master Plumber exam usually carries three parts which include general plumbing, practical repair, and business law. For further information about setting up the exam and guidance, you can obtain from the State Plumbing Board of Louisiana

Qualifying the tests will reward a license, after which you can legally go into the field for work.

The journeyman plumbing exams are typically taken place in January, April, July, and October every year.

For master plumbing exam, it is taken place February, May, August, and November.

For tradesman plumbing exam, it is held in May and November every year.

These exams are held at the State Plumbing Board of Louisiana Administrative Office, 11304 Cloverland Avenue, Baton Rouge, LA 70809.

Exams dates can be changed due to conditions beyond the control of the Board.

Louisiana License Renewal

Your initial Louisiana plumbing license will expire after twelve months. You can be notified by mail to renew the permit. The renewal fee is $100, and it must be entire before December 31. You can choose to renew your permit for a period of 1, two, or three years.

Louisiana License Reciprocity

if you are seeking to turn into a plumber in Louisiana and hold an out-of-state license, Louisiana has reciprocity agreements with the following states; Alabama; Georgia; California; Mississippi; Kentucky; Nevada; Arkansas; Tennessee; South Carolina; North Carolina; Texas; Ohio; And Utah.

Reference

Scroll to Top