Working as an electrician may place you amid Tennessee’s most crucial Industry: energy. According to a University of Tennessee research, the state boasts many energy resources, including nuclear power, solar power, river reservoirs, and alternative fuels. Tennessee is also attempting to make energy in the form more inexpensive and efficient to match the median income of many Tennessee residents.
Tennessee’s Electrician Licensing Requirements
Electrical licenses are awarded at both the state and local levels in the state of Tennessee.
Individual cities or counties issue local licenses, such as journeyman and master electrician licenses.
The Tennessee Department of Commerce and Industry, through the Tennessee Board for Licensing Contractors, issues electrical contractor licenses on a statewide basis.
The Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance accepts a state-issued Limited Licensed Electrician (LLE) license for cities and counties that do not have local licensing regulations. The following criteria are used to award LLE licenses:
- The overall price of the project. An LLE is typically appropriate if the budget is less than $25,000, including materials and labor.
- The project’s physical location. Check with your local code enforcement authority to discover if an LLE may be used to extract permits and inspection records.
Electrical regulations issued by the Division of Fire Prevention in some municipalities cover electrical installations conducted by an LLE.
How to Obtain a Tennessee Electrician’s License?
Get the experience and classroom instruction you need.
Obtain a license at the local level.
Consider obtaining a statewide license as an electrical contractor.
GET THE REQUIRED EXPERIENCE: Tennessee’s towns and counties have different experience requirements. Contact your local licensing board for further information.
To be qualified for a Tennessee journeyman electrician license, you must have 8,000 hours (or four years) of professional experience.
To be qualified for a Tennessee journeyman electrician license, you must have a least 8,000 hours (or four years) of internships. The majority of towns additionally require 576 to 900 hours of classroom education.
An authorized apprenticeship program can provide aspiring electricians with hands-on job experience and classroom training. Both company and non-union apprenticeship options are offered in Tennessee, including:
In Chattanooga, Memphis, Knoxville, Nashville, and Oak Ridge, there are five union-based Joint Education and Certification Boards (JATCs).
The Individual Electrical Contractors (IEC) and the Associated Builders and Contractors (ABC) trade groups provide non-union trade schools.
GET A LOCAL ELECTRICIAN LICENSE: The sorts of electrical licenses available in Tennessee differ by city and county. Specific licensing requirements should be checked with your local codes office.
The Shelby County Electrical Code Board, for example, grants journeyman and master electrician licenses in Shelby County, Tennessee.
Journeyman electricians in Shelby County must be at least 20 years old and have lots of experience. Master welders must be 24 years old and have worked as journeyman electricians for at least four years. Both novice and master electricians must update their licenses every year in Shelby County.
GET A LICENSE TO WORK AS AN INDEPENDENT ELECTRICAL CONTRACTOR: You must complete a business and law test and a trade exam and submit the necessary application and accompanying documents, which involve economic records and verification of workers’ compensation and general liability insurance.
A $250 charge is required to receive an electrical contractor license, which must be renewed every two years. Candidates must file with the Tennessee Secretaries of State’s Office to form a company.
Tennessee Electrical Licensure Types
There are numerous types of licenses available in Tennessee:
Traditional journeyman and master electrician licenses are issued in some areas.
Knoxville grants four different types of licenses based on years of experience and the job to be done.
In addition to journeyman and master electrician credentials, the Memphis/Shelby County region provides a supervising sign electrician license.
The Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance accepts a state-issued Limited Licensed Electrician license in locations without licensing rules.
The Tennessee Commerce department and Industry, through the Tennessee Board for Licensing Engineers, issues electrical company licenses on a statewide basis.
What Is the Average Electrician Wage in Tennessee?
Electrician Apprentice: In Tennessee, an operator apprentice earns an average of $20.01 per hr and $4,216 in extra annually.
Electrician: In Tennessee, an electrical engineer apprentice earns an average of $24.39 per hour and $5,812 in overtime per year.
Electrician Master: In Tennessee, an electrician apprentice earns an average of $35.82 per hour and $10,000 in extra annually.
Salary ranges vary greatly based on the city and various other considerations.
How Long Does It Take to Get a Tennessee Electrician’s License?
Because licenses are awarded at municipal, state, and local levels, Tennessee’s time needed to receive electrical licensing varies. The amount of time it takes depends on the sort of license you want and where you want to get it.
A journeyman electrician license or its equivalents requires around 8,000 hours of full-time relevant work experience or four months. Journeyman electricians who have worked as licensed journeymen for four years may be eligible for master’s electrical licensure in some towns.
After many decades of work expertise as a certified electrician, you can apply for a statewide electrical contractor license.
Electrician Schools & Programs in Tennessee
Tennessee has many community colleges, trade schools, technical and vocational institutions where you may obtain the training you need to work as an electrician. Training options may be found throughout the state, including Nashville, Chattanooga, Knoxville, and Memphis.
Program Prerequisites: Each program has its own set of requirements. On the other hand, most programs demand that you be 18 years old, hold a high school diploma, have a driver’s license, and have passed Algebra.
On-the-Job Training: You’ll learn about electrical standards and arithmetic, and scientific fundamentals while on the job. Engineers must have excellent vision, hand-eye coordination, and time management abilities. They must also possess excellent customer service, autonomy, physical stamina, and analytical problem-solving skills. Electricians also study blueprints, schematics, and other technical papers.
Details about the Tennessee Electrician Licensing Exam
Exams for local licensing differ per county and city. Read the applicant info circular in the Memphis/Shelby Counties region to study for journeyman and master electrician examinations, which Pearson VUE conducts. It costs $80 to take each exam.
You have four hours to solve 80 various questions on the journeyman test. You have five hours to complete the expert electrician test, consisting of 100 numerous questions.
PSI Exams administers the statewide electrical contractor exam. The business and law tests, as well as the trade exam, are both included. To prepare for the examinations, consult the candidate information bulletin.
The open-book business and law test consists of 50 questions that must be answered in 140 minutes. At least 73 percent is required to pass.
License Reciprocity in Tennessee
Yes! Tennessee has reciprocity with Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Ohio, and South Carolina in terms of trade exam waivers.
Insurance for Electricians in Tennessee
The insurance policy covers the employee’s rehabilitation expenditures, medical charges, and other expenses. It also pays his lost wages due to his inability to work. It aids in protecting the electrical company when one of its employees causes harm to a person while driving.
License Renewal in Tennessee
Once you’ve been granted a license, it’ll be valid for two (2) years, and you’ll have to renew it 30 days before it expires. Renewal notices are issued 90 days before the expiration date; renewals are required 30 days before the expiration date to avoid contracting while unlicensed, which is illegal. You may also get a copy of the renewal form by clicking here. Here’s where you may do a “partial” renewal online.