How To Become A Licensed Electrician In Wyoming – WY?

The Department of Fire Suppression & Electric Protection, part of the State Fire Marshal’s Office, oversees and administers the electrician licensing process in Wyoming. Senior electricians, journeyman electricians, reduced voltage techs, limited specialists, temporary certificates, reciprocal licenses, and the registration of apprentice electrical engineers and trainee technicians are all governed by the Board’s laws and regulations. The Board ensures that only certified electricians undertake repair services. In addition, they decide on criminal punishments and other measures.

How to Obtain a Wyoming Electrician’s License

To be a journeyman or master engineer, you’ll need to have the appropriate hands-on training and theoretical instruction.

Pass the journeyman electrician test.

Obtain a master electrical engineer certificate.

Obtain a license as a self-employed electrical engineer.

GET THE REQUIRED EXPERIENCE: You must have 8,000 hours (four years) of on-the-job training under the direct guidance of a qualified journeyman or master electrician, as well as 576 hours of traditional classrooms to be eligible for the Wyoming journeyman electrician test.

There are two ways to get the required training in Wyoming:

  • Enroll in a program that includes 8,000 hours of hands-on training and 576 hours of classroom instruction.
  • Accomplish two years of on-the-job training after earning a two-year degree in an authorized electrical school.

Complete The Journeyman Electrical Engineer Test: Once you’ve accumulated the proper knowledge, you may register to pass the Pearson VUE Wyoming journeyman license exam. The open-book test costs $105 and consists of 80 questions answered in 4 hours. To complete the Wyoming journeyman licensure test, you must get a score of at least 70%.

The following topics are included in the exam:

  • Feeders Branch Circuits and Conductors National Electrical Code (NEC) Services and Service Equipment
  • Research methodology of Wiring
  • Systems and Hardware
  • Instruments of Regulation
  • Engines and Controllers
  • Occupations, Equipment, and Situations That Are Unique
Related:  How To Become a Licensed Electrician In South Dakota – SD?

You will earn your journeyman electrician license after passing the licensing exam and paying a $100 licensing fee.

Journeyman electricians in Wyoming must renew their licenses every three years for $50.

Get Your License As A Master Electrician:

You must have 16,000 hours of work expertise, including four years as a certified journeyman engineer, and 576 hours of classroom instruction to sit for the master electrical engineer test.

You can register to pass the Wyoming master electrician license test through Pearson VUE after earning the necessary experience. The open-book test costs $105 and consists of 100 questions answered in five hours. To pass the Wyoming master electrician licensing exam, you must get a score of at least 75%.

You will obtain your master electrician license from the state of Wyoming after completing the examination and submitting the $200 licensing fee.

Get A License To Work As An Independent Electrical Contractor:

You can provide your services to consumers, hire workers, and manage your own business as an individual electrical contractor in Wyoming. An electrical company license and a low voltage/limited engineering firm license are available through the Wyoming Department of Fire Suppression and Electric Safety.

The following are the requirements for an electrical contractor’s license:

  • Apply for a position as an electrical contractor.
  • Please fill up the Master Acknowledgement Responsibility form and send it in.
  • Pay the license cost of $400.
  • Submit a signed Personnel of Applicant form stating that all work will be done under the direction of a master electrician and confirming workers’ adequate insurance coverage.
  • Electrical contractors in Wyoming must renew their licenses every year and pay a $400 renewal fee.

Details on the Wyoming Electrician Licensing Exam

Exam for a Journeyman Electrician’s License: Pearson VUE accepts applications for the Wyoming journeyman license test. The open-book test costs $105 and consists of 80 questions answered in four hours. A qualifying score of 70% is required for the exam.

Master Electrician License Test: Pearson VUE accepts applications for the Wyoming master electrician licensure exam. The open-book test costs $105 and consists of 100 questions answered in five hours. A qualifying score of 75% is required for the exam.

Related:  How to Become a Licensed Electrician in Alabama: License Requirements and Guide

Electrician Licensing in Wyoming: How Much Does It Cost?

Most electrical institutions in Wyoming provide two-year programs, and in-state students pay roughly $3,000 annually, plus textbooks and other learning supplies. You should also anticipate paying test and licensing costs to earn a journeyman, master electrical, or electrical contractor license.

How Long Should You Wait For Wyoming Electrician’s License?

In Wyoming, earning a journeyman electrician license requires four years of electrical job experience and 576 hours of classroom study.

Before receiving a master electrician license, you must have a current journeyman electrician license for four years and accomplish 16,000 hours of work expertise and 576 hours of associated academic coursework.

Electrician Schools & Programs in Wyoming

State schools, technical colleges, and academic – vocational institutions can help you get the education you want to become a certified electrical expert in Wyoming. They may be found across the state, including Casper, Gillette, and Cheyenne.

Requirements for this program: The requirements for each licensing category differ. However, most programs demand that you be at least 18 years old, have a high school diploma or GED, a valid driver’s license, and pass an aptitude exam.

On-the-

Working Experience: You’ll learn about electrical regulations, as well as arithmetic and scientific ideas, while on the job. Electricians must have excellent vision, kinesthetic awareness, and time team management. They must also have exceptional client abilities and be self-sufficient.

Wyoming Reciprocal Electrician License Agreements

The Journeyman Electrician License in Wyoming is reciprocal with the following states:

  • Arkansas
  • Colorado
  • South Dakota
  • New Hampshire
  • Oregon
  • Minnesota
  • Texas
  • Idaho
  • Nebraska
  • Montana
  • Utah
  • New Mexico
  • Maine

To be qualified for a reciprocal journeyman electrician license, you must have passed an examination with a 70% or above score and kept your current request for at least one year. You must submit an application form that has been completed and notarized, as well as a copy of your driver’s license and a $100 check or money order made payable to the “State of Wyoming.”

Related:  How to Become a Licensed Electrician in Massachusetts: License Requirements and Guide

The Master Electrician License in Wyoming is reciprocal with the following states:

South Dakota, Idaho, and Utah.

To be qualified for a reciprocal master electrician license, you must have passed an assessment with a rating of at least 75% and have retained your current license for at least one year. You must submit a request form that has been completed and signed, as well as a copy of your driver’s license and a $200 check or cash order made payable to the “State of Wyoming.”

Wyoming Electrician License Renewal / Continuing Education

To keep conducting construction wiring, you must renew your license regularly.

Master and journeyman electricians must also complete 16 hours of continuing education each year (might have to be code). This page contains a list of the Board-approved Continuing Education Classes.

The petition is completed, signed, and notarized for contractor licenses by the company’s officer or proprietor. The Master of Record also fills out the Master of Acknowledgement of Responsibility form, seals it, and gets it certified.

Please go to the Board’s license renewal website and select the appropriate permission level to figure out when your term ends.

Insurance

The Wyoming Department of Insurance regulates Wyoming’s insurance. Wyoming law only requires a limited amount of insurance coverage, and they are in charge of enforcing worker’s compensation laws.

If you regularly recruit one person in Wyoming, you must obtain worker’s compensation insurance. Part-time employees, family members, children, and immigrant employees are included. It is unnecessary for independent contractors or domestic workers; however, you should double-check that any contractors you have are independent contractors rather than employees.

Commercial auto insurance is also required in Wyoming for all business-owned automobiles. The industry determines other sorts of company insurance that owners should have.

Final verdict

Now that you have gone through the whole process, you can immediately know how to become a licensed electrician in Wyoming. It will require your hard work and enthusiasm.

References

Scroll to Top