Plumbing is not a quick or straightforward job to learn in West Virginia. Learning how to execute the job properly takes many months, and practically this state has judged it essential to defend its citizens’ health & wellbeing. That’s why, to be certified, it needs plumbers to train for several months, earn plumbing expertise, and show competency through tests.
To lawfully do any repair work in West Virginia, you must first get a license. Every tier of this labor is licensed and certified, including apprentices, journeymen, masters, and contractors. Plumbers, HVAC professionals, and builders must be licensed and regulated by the West Virginia Division of Labor. According to a statute enacted by the state senate, the West Virginia Contractor Licensing Board will be responsible for these functions beginning June 15, 2021. However, the Department of Labor will continue to execute operational and regulatory tasks for the Contractor Licensing Board for another 24 months after that date. They will be transferred to the Board.
To begin, you should be at least 18 years old. There are no precise experience requirements; all required is that you pass the exam. There are numerous methods to obtain the training. You can go to a community or technical college for some post-secondary training, or you can join a plumbers program while still in junior high. Conversely, you might start with a company or trade organization apprenticeship, which usually lasts four to five years and combines hands-on instruction with a traditional classroom. You might also learn the basics by taking entry-level employment with a plumbing contractor.
There are four types
- Plumber in Training
- Journeyman Plumber
- Master Plumber
- Plumbing Contractor
Should be at least 18 years old and deal closely under a qualified master or journeyman plumber.
Must be at least 18 years old, have passed the requisite journeyman plumber proficiency test with a value of at least 70%, and be capable of instructing and supervising the job of a locksmith in education.
Have to be at least 18 years old, have passed the mandatory senior plumbing proficiency test with a score of at least 70%, and be capable of designing shutoff valves and instructing and supervising the operation of apprentice engineers and plumbers in education.
You must either be a licensed Master Plumber personally or employ a licensed Master Plumber to function as the qualification to get a Plumbing Contractor license. Make sure to meet exam requirements.
- It would help if you were at least 18 years old to participate.
- Participate in a plumbing-related education program through the country’s new schools’ vocational professional curricula, an apprenticeship program, or a career training program;
- The West Virginia Division of Labor will issue you a Plumber in Training license.
- Work under the direction of a master or journeyman plumber who is licensed.
- Please apply for a journeyman plumber license, take the exam, and pass it.
- Make an application for a license and pay the licensing cost.
- As a licensed journeyman, you can labor continuously; OR
- Successfully pass the expert engineer licensure test at least one year after completing the journeyman plumber certification.
- With your submitted contractor license application, acquire a company incorporation tax identification number and present documentation of Workers’ Insurance, Unemployment Payments, and a salary guarantee.
- Every year, all licenses must be renewed.
A builder’s yearly average pay in West Virginia is $50,590.
Trainee: In West Virginia, an apprentice plumber earns an average of $17 per hour and $5,400in extra annually.
Journeyman: In West Virginia, a journeyman plumber earns a median of $23.75 per hour and $10,300 in extra annually.
Income varies considerably based on the area in which you operate and other aspects such as education, certifications, supplementary talents, and the number of years you have worked in your field.
You must complete the journeyman test once you have gained the necessary abilities through training or entry-level work under the guidance of a competent master or journeyman plumbing expert. You can retake the professional plumber test the first year after completing it if you decide to start your own company. You’ll also need to pass the business and economics exams, as well as the plumbing contractor trade test. Each examination costs $51.95. The master and journeyman licenses have a $75 application and renewal cost, and the application and renewal fee for contractors is $90.
The exam price for each is $51.95 and must be paid directly to Prov.
The Journeyman Plumber test consists of 80 queries, and you will have three hours to complete it. The Master Plumber test consists of 100 items and takes three hours.
- Hooks & Faucets
- Health Isometrics for Drainage System
- Health Isometrics
- Drainage System
- Water Transport and Production
- Heaters for Water
- Systems for Drainage, Trash, and Ventilation
- Piping Tools
A trade test is required for certain contractor classes, such as piping. The Contractor Candidate Information Bulletin describes the methodology and substance of both commerce and law and economics tests. Each will set you back $51.95, bringing the total to $103.90.
The Plumbing Contractor test has 100 questions and a three-hour time restriction. The topics covered in those questions will be the same as in the Master and Journeyman exams.
The Business and Law test is also necessary, and it lasts three hours and covers the fundamental business management skills required to run a construction company.
The West Virginia Division of Labor issues piping and contractor licenses. The West Virginia State Legislature enacted a law that moves these responsibilities to the Contractor Licensing Board, dated June 15, 2021. However, the Division of Labor will carry out regular operational and regulatory tasks for the Contractor Licensing Board for another two years, after which they will be transferred to the Council in June 2023.
Because there is no longer a baseline training criteria for the Journeyman Plumber License, the time it would take to get licensed is entirely up to you. It will take as much time as you need to master the content on which the assessment will be based. Because plumbing is such a problematic trade, most prospective plumbers pursue a professional education, such as a regional or vocational college diploma, professional qualification, or an apprenticeship. A certificate program typically lasts a year, whereas an undergraduate degree takes two years. Entry-level jobs in plumbing often last four to five years. The master plumber’s license is also not something that can be hastened.
In West Virginia, plumbers are required to have insurance.
So, in West Virginia, you’ll require plumber coverage. Unexpected losses, such as floods from a leaking water line or mold from incorrectly placed equipment, will be covered by insurance.
Inoculations are also given to many plumbers to shield them from potentially hazardous employment situations.
For plumbing licenses, West Virginia has reciprocity agreements with two additional states. You’re in favor if you’re licensed in Ohio or Tennessee. The Contractor Licensing Board authorized the following extradition treaties for West Virginia.
Other credentials might help you show hiring managers and customers that you’re capable. National Inspection Testing and Certification (NITC), International Association of Plumbing and Mechanical Officials (ASSE Qualifications), and other professional certifications are not essential. Still, they can help you stand out to prospective employers and boost your commercial viability.
The West Virginia act does not ask certified plumbers or contractors to complete continuing knowledge to extend their license. One-year licenses are available. Your accreditation card has an expiration date on it, and you’ll get a renewal notice around 45 days before your subscription ends. The renewal charge is the same as for the first registration.
- $25 for an apprentice plumber
- $75 for a journeyman plumber
- $75 for a Master Plumber
- $90 for a plumbing employer or contractor
Any expired license for more than 15 days is subject to a $25 late charge.